Dancing with Demons

I have danced with the demons in the shadows. I have walked willingly with them. I have run in sheer terror from them. I have been stalked by them. I have pitied them. I have drunk Southern Comfort under bridges with them. I have been padlocked into dirty studio rooms with them. I have jumped from windows to escape them. I have rolled under a train, thrillingly, with them. I have toasted and boasted and become them. I have bedded down in sooty garage floors with them. I have huffed and eaten acid with them. I have smoked and jeered and been cruel with them. I have woken with only stutters for words with them. I have seen and done much with them, and they, with me. These demons are very close to the surface, and they can become our allies if we understand how to reveal their brilliance into our souls. But rarely do we. Usually, they take over, and are allowed to run roughshod over us, and then, we are but slaves to their will. One merely has to reach over and take the reigns. Trouble is, infrequently are we even aware there are reigns to be held and guided.

Leave a Reply

