Dreams of Worms and Ecstasy

I’ve had some weird dreams lately! The wormy one was when Hubby and I were staying in a camper cabin for the weekend in a beautiful, deserted state park: in the dream, I had taken this funky pod thingy to Japan via a rail line that was built clear across the ocean. I was in some interior design studio, and I looked at my hand and saw that I had worms crawling under my skin. They were making little paths similar to those bugs that lay their eggs within leaves and when they hatch, they have to burrow their way out. I could see two coming to the surface near my right ring and pinky finger knuckles, and when their little bright red heads with white antennae emerged, I yanked them out. I looked down then and realized that I had tons of them inside my legs, and they were huge and making large, pus filled welts all over my thighs and legs. I started freaking out and thinking about the (waking world) wormwood vodka I had infusing on the counter back at the condo, and wondering what herbs in Japan get rid of worms. I called my mom and was in a complete panic about it. There was some bit about Murray Hewitt from Flight of the Conchords borrowing money from his 4 ex-wives after that, but it was brief and so completely random. I think I was teasing him for soaking off his ex-wives.

I recall a tiny snippet from some dream that I hadn’t remembered previously, but once it came into my mind, I recalled vividly that it was in one of my dreams. There was a woman that was erotically “riding” her broomstick using a flying ointment. I remember distinctly her face in ecstasy, her moans and seeing the broomstick between her legs. She seemed to be ‘humping’ it rather than actually inserting it into herself. It wasn’t that I saw the ointment being applied, more that I knew that it was there, and further, that I knew what was in it. I can’t recall now the ingredients, of course, but I may have to use some dream oil and try to divine back to that knowledge somehow. I seem to be most effective these days at seeing, hearing and knowing in my dreams, although I’ve had more instances of knowing while awake.

I’ve been having fun brewing and creating stuff in the kitchen. Yesterday I took the day off for Mabon, and though I meant to have a big elaborate ritual at my altar, I ended up spending the whole day on my feet in the kitchen. I made a feast for dinner for us and the ancestors, but forgot to set out a dumb supper. We toasted to my deceased mother in law, whose birthday was yesterday, and ate as normal. I think it’s less of an aversion to doing this stuff than it is simply trying to teach an old dog new tricks. Being a creature of habit, it’s tough to start new habits and make them stick. I think, also, there is really something about the light and dark halves of the year for me. Though I can get extremely moody in the summers these days (and this summer was brutal), it’s still the only time of year we can enjoy the light. It gets fiercely dark and cold here, and that lends itself naturally to more introspection and hibernation. I feel more like meditating when it’s dark and cold out. It feels natural to want to be up and active when it’s light. Again, this is my party, and I’ll celebrate how I want.

So yesterday, I made another batch of granola, buttermilk corn bread, two pumpkin pies, a big batch of my Sweet Warming Salve for Mum and my sister, a smaller batch of a new hemorrhoid formula, also for Mum and Sister (and a tiny bit left for me to try). I also moved my infused absinthe liqueur onto the next stage of infusion by straining out the wormwood (that infused for 13 days) and now the other herbs will infuse for 5 days, then it will be heated with superfine sugar and sampled! I’ve already had friends interested in it on my Facebook page! I only made a half-litre using a kind of crappy vodka, so next time I make it, I’ll use some good stuff. We’d like to get a beer brew started this weekend, and I’d like to start another small mead, this time I’m going to try using chamomile and elder flowers. YAY!!

Mmmmmm. This new incarnation of granola is fabulous! Since I’ve made variations of my grandma’s recipe so many times, I just eyeball everything now. But here’s an approximation for you of my latest recipe:

3 cups old fashioned rolled oats
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1/2 cup walnuts
1/4 cup flax seeds
1/2 bag coconut flakes
1-2 Tbsp cinnamon
1/2-3/4 cup cooking oil (this time I used a mix of olive and coconut oil)
Agave nectar or honey
Dried cranberries

Mix all the dry ingredients together, stirring/crumbling in the coconut flakes last. Stir in the oil. Spread mixture out evenly on shallow pans. Drizzle agave nectar or honey over the mixture as you wish. I let it all melt in the oven before I try stirring the sweetener in. Place in oven preheated to 250 degrees for 30 minutes. Stir thoroughly. Bake for another 30 minutes. If the coconut is crispy brown and the oats look toasty, it’s done. If not, bake for another 15 minutes and check. It can burn quickly, so once it starts getting crispy, call it good. Scrape mixture into a large bowl IMMEDIATELY upon coming out of the oven or it will harden to the pan and be a bitch to get off. Stir in the dried cranberries right away, and stir the mixture occasionally as it’s cooling or it will stick to itself. Once cool, store in a cool, dry cookie jar or other storage container. Serve with milk or yogurt.

Leave a Reply

