Slowly, Slowly

(Post originally started May 16, 2011)

I’ve been rather lazy about meditations, but busy enough with loads of other types of “meditative” activities that I scarcely notice. I’ve been working on all of my homemade cosmetics, amulets, wooden crafts and beading, and it all feels very right. I think I can safely say I am a kitchen witch; my work is in the kitchen, in crafts, in writing, in doing. The ceremonial stuff is just beyond my scope, and I’m not sure it will ever be my favorite thing. However, that doesn’t mean that I don’t want to develop in that area, because I’m starting to learn how important it is. Baby steps, that’s all I can do. One doesn’t become an expert at anything overnight, but that’s no reason to give up on the goal.

The holidays are still very difficult for me to embrace, though I did have lovely Beltaine fun with my Hubby. And I’ve started to enjoy and in fact, relish, in offerings. My first official offering to nature was a large bag of fruits, vegetables and breads. I felt awkward, even ludicrous, trying to find a private enough place in a busy, city park to leave it in my favorite circle of trees. But I did it, with Hubby’s help, and I said silent thanks. But then it got easier, and I’ve left a bunch of different offerings now. I left some cut up apples near my workplace under the giant pines that live in the courtyard. And I left a wonderful offering of liquid honey and herb water and apple in Frontenac State Park when we were celebrating our 13th anniversary/Beltaine. The tree I spoke with seemed to thrum with energy as I touched it and spoke my blessings and thanks to the wild things. The next day we returned and the apple was completely gone 🙂 I think I left some of my homemade Honey Oatmeal Bread somewhere…but now I can’t remember where. I have another whole loaf in the freezer that I’ll save a bit from to share with the spirits. I’ve got a couple of ideas for more offerings that I am excited about. One is a little crafty idea where you take pinecones and smear them with peanut butter, roll them in birdseed and let them harden a bit before setting them out. I’ve also got these funky rice things that I thought would be appropriate. Maybe I’ll soak them in some pork fat for the creatures to have some protein. I love WOFG’s offerings of raw liver to the crows, so I may investigate some raw meat options, as I adore the crows so much, but I would have to make sure to get it out straight away.

Leave a Reply

