Steps

In all of my thinking and reading and meditating, and more importantly, my hesitation, I’m discovering how green I really am. I appreciate the tales of experienced people on these matters because I know it’s dangerous to walk along burning paths without flame retardant jammies on, and sometimes even then they simply get burned off and float into the heavens as bits of ash anyway. I’m especially enthralled with some of the most intense, shamanic kinds of stories that have opened my eyes much in the way using mind-altering substances made me realize the precariousness of what we think of  as “normal reality”. Exploring these ideas from a comfortable place has been enlightening and helpful, but ultimately, ‘comfortable’ is a place I’ll have to leave.

“Society in the west has become secure in the comforts of logic and reason, secure that they’ve overcome the supposed darkness and superstition of the distant past. Where churches once salved the frightened minds of people facing the uncertainties of an older world, science today creates brilliant modern myths that allow people to remain safely distant from themselves and from some of the most important questions we should be asking. Our true heritage is not a simple matter, and it’s far beyond belief or reason- no simple religious myth suffices to explain the emergence of humankind, nor any scientific theory. What we really are defies explanation, because what we really are is even stranger than the fictions we have invented to give our imagination flight.” ~Robin Artisson

I’ve seen many birds of prey lately, and every time I see them, they are searching, seeking. The eagle near the gym has been sitting atop a high tree, and the red-tail hawks I’ve spotted hunt through my break and at lunch. I’ve seen a kestrel several times, and I thought I saw a Cooper’s hawk flying over my contract lot as I left today. The crows swarm now in the thousands along the riverbanks and make such a great raucous as to make me smile every time I see and hear them. They do make one feel a bit as if they’ve walked onto the set of The Birds, but now that I understand more about crows, it doesn’t freak me out in the least. (The grackles in my old neighborhood used to give me such a fright, I thought they’d surely start forcing their way into the homes!) Crows are such beautiful, clan-oriented and social birds, to hear them yakking all together is quite the natural orchestra.

Leave a Reply

